Sports Info Advises you Save the date: April 26 - Frank Deford & Aaron Pinsky '06 Awards Ceremony 7-8:00 PM in Griffin 3

Posted Friday April 13 by Dick Quinn

Save the date of April 26 so you can join us in honoring the most outstanding student workers in Eph Sports Information.

On Thursday, April 26 in Griffin 3 from 7-8:00 PM we will be recognizing the Frank Deford and Aaron Pinsky award winners, which are the only awards of their kind in all of college athletics.

The Deford Award winners this year are seniors Adam Dulsky, Jay Habib and David Vascones. The Pinsky Award winners are juniors Angela Chan and Tobi Popoola and senior John Toomey.

Our featured speaker will be Ian O’Connor from who is a nationally recognized sports columnist and a New York Times best-selling author.

Ian will speak about writing for Frank Deford, modern sports journalism, and take questions from the audience at the end of his talk on sports, sports journalism, and his books.

Books by Ian O’Connor

Arnie & Jack: Palmer, Nicklaus, and Golf’s Greatest Rivalry - (NY Times Best-Seller)

The Captain: The Journey of Derek Jeter - (NY Times Best-Seller)

The Jump: Sebastian Telfair and the High-Stakes Business of High School Basketball

Due out in the fall will be Ian’s 4th book on New England Patriots coach Bill Belichick.

This event is free and open to the public.